Unlock the Freshness: Mayor Hawthorne and the County

by

haricut

Yo for real, I fuck with this.  I heard this song for the first time yesterday and I’ve been bumping it since. Meet producer Haircut, a dude from Detroit who came out to L.A. a few years ago with his group Now On. I’ll be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of the group, but I definitely respect the dudes’ talents.  This is a side project he is coming out with  with under the name Mayor Hawthorne and The County on Stones Throw Records. The vibe is super 60s throwback, pretty much in the same lane as Raphael Saadiq’s new record, ‘The Way I See It’, just waaay more raw and less polished.  Peep the track “Just Ain’t Gonna work Out” below with the actual vinyl spining.  -Yoelian Chambers

P.S. How amazing is the vinyl, its heart shaped…hewhoaaaa dude 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

